Austrian Commission for UNESCO

The Austrian Commission for UNESCO

UNESCO’s National Commissions is a unique system within the framework of the United Nations, as it included cooperation between the civic society and member states from its inception. The National Commissions are anchored in UNESCO’s Constitution (Article VII) and organised in line with the 1978 Charter of National Commissions for UNESCO. As constitutional parties, the National Commissions are the national representatives of UNESCO in each member state while also representing that member state to UNESCO when called for by them.

The Austrian Commission for UNESCO is the national coordinator and liaison office for all areas in which UNESCO is active in Austria.
It provides consultation to the federal government, state governments and other competent authorities on UNESCO matters, contributes to the implementation of UNESCO programmes in Austria, informs the public of UNESCO’s work and liaises between institutions, specialist organisations, experts and UNESCO. It ensures that UNESCO remains a presence in Austria and represents UNESCO in Austria as the holder of the copyright to its name and logo.

The Austrian Commission for UNESCO is financed by an annual membership contribution paid for by the Federal Ministry for Education. This covers expenditures on infrastructure, staff and educational activities.

Contact
Austrian Commission for UNESCO
Universitätsstrasse 5/4th floor/12
1010 Vienna, Austria
Tel.: +43 / (0)1 / 526 13 01
Fax: +43 / (0)1 / 526 13 01/20
oeuk@unesco.at
www.unesco.at

Österreichische UNESCO-Kommission

Österreichische UNESCO-Kommission

Das System der UNESCO-Nationalkommissionen ist einzigartig im gesamten UN System und stellt eine vorausblickende Einbeziehung der Zivilgesellschaft in die zwischenstaatliche Zusammenarbeit dar. Die UNESCO-Nationalkommissionen sind in der Verfassung der UNESCO (Artikel VII) verankert und an die Charta der Nationalkommissionen von 1978 gebunden. Als konstitutionelle Partner sind Nationalkommissionen einerseits das nationale Organ der UNESCO in einem Mitgliedsstaat, andererseits vertreten sie den jeweiligen Mitgliedsstaat gegenüber der UNESCO dort, wo es die UNESCO vorsieht.

Die Österreichische UNESCO-Kommission (ÖUK) ist die nationale Koordinations- und Verbindungsstelle aller Arbeitsbereiche der UNESCO in Österreich.
Ihre Aufgabe ist es, die Bundesregierung, die Landesregierungen und die übrigen zuständigen Stellen in UNESCO-Angelegenheiten zu beraten, an der Verwirklichung der UNESCO-Programme in Österreich mitzuarbeiten, die Öffentlichkeit über die Arbeit der UNESCO zu informieren sowie Institutionen, Fachorganisationen und ExpertInnen mit der UNESCO in Verbindung zu bringen. Sie stellt die Präsenz der UNESCO in Österreich sicher und vertritt die UNESCO in Österreich als Inhaberin der Rechte am Namen und Signet.

Finanziert wird die Österreichische UNESCO-Kommission über einen jährlichen Mitgliedsbeitrag des Bundesministeriums für Bildung, der die Ausgaben für Infrastruktur, Personal sowie Aktivitäten im Bildungsbereich abdeckt.

Kontakt
Österreichische UNESCO-Kommission
Universitätsstrasse 5/4.Stock/12
A-1010 Wien
Tel.: +43 / (0)1 / 526 13 01
Fax: +43 / (0)1 / 526 13 01/20
E-Mail: oeuk@unesco.at
www.unesco.at